41 Comments
Feb 23, 2022·edited Feb 23, 2022Liked by Simon K Jones

Writer? Not really. I've had a few short stories published in some now-defunct small magazines, was a theater reviewer for a now-defunct newspaper, a featured columnist for a now-defunct gaming magazine, and... Um... I guess publishing me is bad luck!

I enjoy world building, I enjoy plotting and creating situations within those worlds, but don't actually enjoy the physical act of putting words down. My hand eye coordination isn't the best, and I'm a bit dyslexic, so lots of typos, and it's a chore. I'm actually more likely to type on a phone/tablet as predictive text saves a ridiculous amount of error.

Of course, I'm in the middle of a move, and, if I wasn't waiting for AAA to come jump the camper van would be leaving California today, a mere three days later than intended. My most recent writing was a deserved screed of abuse directed at the execrable Spectrum Internet, and a collection of data delivered to the three US credit reporting agencies and the Better Business Bureau regarding how I am not a Spectrum customer any more, and how it's not my fault they refuse to terminate my account, as well as a letter to my lawyer with the same data and an expression of intent to sue should Spectrum attempt to retrieve monies I don't and won't owe them via a collection agency.

Ah, but we're talking fiction!

Yeah, not in over a year. I do have my fantasy world, but, at the moment the entire setting is getting a major overhaul. Each culture needs a "baseline" historic culture, then the post-cataclysm culture after the entire world spun and, what was Atlantis near the equator became the new North Pole. What happens to, say, a desert culture which becomes arctic almost overnight?

I often write narratives based off our Wednesday TTRPG Campaign. This one is a favorite. The PC narrator always tells his stories in a pub, drinking heavily, gambling and flirting with his love. Here we learn the truth behind his situation. I like the ending. Think it's got a real punch to it.

https://spacegamer.com/OldVox.aspx?pid=18983&rid=18983&page=0

The comments below are worth a read as well. Especially another player's counter narrative...

Expand full comment

Writer here! I’m working on the last 3 chapters of my fantasy horror comedy novella called Crocodilian which I’ve been releasing serially on my Substack! Also a bunch of poetry and short fiction. Thanks for asking!! Love what you’re doing!

Expand full comment

Writer here. I post micro and flash fiction every week on my substack, usually under some sort of theme. I focus on short things since I figure a lot of us are so busy, it's sometimes hard to find time to read long form. Plus, I like the challenge that comes with writing with restrictions. I also like prompts, so I've been randomly generating some and letting my readers vote on which I use in a future issue. It's fun to see what sort of thing interests them out of a list, especially when it's not what I'd expect.

Outside of that, I'm in the early planning phase of writing a serial. It'll be a multiverse fantasy adventure that I'll probably bring to Substack, unless another platform I haven't tried jumps out at me.

Expand full comment
Feb 26, 2022·edited Feb 26, 2022Liked by Simon K Jones

Flash & micro-loving writer here, checking in. Thanks for the opp to share.

I launched “the micro mashup,” a weekly microburst of literary art in January. Here’s the latest episode: https://morningpagemashup.substack.com/p/flight-1-eastbound-again

Also, a monthly flash blog, “This Demented Life.” This month is about humble writing and promoting it seems a bit paradoxical but here goes: https://dementedlife.com/humble-truth/

Expand full comment

Writerrr! I like short fiction and have one running right now called Of Dust and Dreams. In between a few cross promotion pieces I’m writing, I’ll get to my longer form fiction.

Expand full comment

Oh yes, I am a writer. Books are self-published; most of my short stories are in anthologies or online magazines. I'm wrapping up book 7 of my Martiniere Legacy main line series (available on my Martiniere Stories Substack), finishing a Kindle Vella novella, getting ready to release another novella in a new Weird West multiverse series, Vortex Worlds, editing an alternative Martiniere Legacy near-future science fiction romance for April release, working on another story in that world, and other projects.

Not all at once, obviously! This is the year of getting a bunch of half-finished projects cleared off of my hard drive, as well as rerelease and rebranding of my first series, the Netwalk Sequence. All of this is in preparation for time to work on a new fantasy series, Goddess's Vision, in 2023....

Expand full comment

Am I a writer? Yes. Since 1st grade! I just completed the second book in the Baron Britpop Blastfurnace series (on my Substack.)

https://markstarlinwrites.substack.com/p/surprised-by-life-again

I will be starting book 3 shortly (on my Substack.) I am also always working on short humor and fiction. And sometimes longer fiction and humor. Or whatever else interests me at the moment.

https://markstarlinwrites.substack.com

Expand full comment

Yep, I am a writer! Currently working on book 2 of my epic urban fantasy series, which I'm serializing on my Substack newsletter. I'm nearing the halfway point and plan to launch a Kickstarter for the print edition in the spring.

Expand full comment

Hey Simon,

I write for my day job, so I have a lot on the go: today is web content, a news post, a blog post, and some other things on my (rather long) list.

As for personal writing -- I'm keeping up with my own Substack (new post out yesterday that's getting some great reaction so far) and working on my next novel. That's slow going for a variety of reasons (including day job and Substack... lol - not to mention a lot of snowblowing lately) but I managed to get two solid hours of research in last night, which inspired a few paragraphs this morning before I got to work on client stuff.

All in all, very happy with my progress. Just could use a few more hours in my day (couldn't we all).

~Graham

Expand full comment

I'm working on some historical film essays, and I'm taking a class with my college right now in which we write about our inner feelings/identity. It's been really freeing to have an outlet for thinking about that stuff.

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2022Liked by Simon K Jones

Not sure I'd call myself a writer. Working on a novel though at the moment, 1st draft, not good to be read yet.

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2022·edited Feb 23, 2022Liked by Simon K Jones

I wouldn't consider myself a writer, but I do my best to translate my thoughts into actual written words 😅

Currently writing onepersonbusiness.substack.com

Expand full comment

Thanks! I appreciate you.

Expand full comment