13 Comments

I read in my email then click and continue on desktop. I rarely use the app. If I wouldn’t be a writer on Substack myself, I’d probably just read the email version.

Expand full comment

App only for me. For most of the stuff. I wish the app would support creation, too.

Expand full comment

I use both the Inbox and the mobile app, depending on time of day and how hard I'm procrastinating.

Expand full comment
Jul 31, 2023Liked by Simon K Jones

I tend to read initially via email but I’ll then often click across to read the whole thing via the app.

Expand full comment
Aug 2, 2023Liked by Simon K Jones

I have the email sent to Inoreader and read it there.

Expand full comment

That's an interesting insight -- I thought the majority of people read Substack newsletters directly on the website. Looks like it's only me! I suspect that this has an impact on things like likelihood to comment. It makes sense that overall engagement will likely be lower if there is more separating people from the site such as reading in an email and (perhaps to a lesser extent) reading in the app. So, it's more like broadcasting in that way than community building. Not that there's anything wrong with that necessarily -- just good to know!

Hope you find the data you're looking for -- it's already helped me, so thanks for that!

Expand full comment

I tend to read in my email, but, of course, have to click through to the Substack app/website (and my phone seems to open one or the other at random - the comment I just left about Spidey, my email opened in the Substack app while this is the mobile browser page) to leave the inevitable comment.

Expand full comment

I used to receive Substack in my inbox but it got too much for me. So, now I switched over to having all notifications via the mobile app. Ever since I did that, I'm find myself a little more active on the app.

Expand full comment

Like others, I actually read in a variety of places! It depends on what I am doing and where, including time of day and, as Suw Charman-Anderson already said, exactly where I am on the day's procrastination journey... I'll use all of the above options at different times.

(I should also add here that, although I read in my inbox, this doesn't always show up in stats, due to trackers being disabled. Which is probably rather annoying, I know! Sorry! But I do read!)

Expand full comment

As I try to get my arms around Substack as a venue, your insights have been very hlpful and much appreciated. Thanks!

Expand full comment

To be honest, I am a mixed bag. I feel like I usually read newsletters from the Susbtack mobile app, but I'm also currently commenting from my computer. Typically if I see something in my email from anything I subscribe to, I go to Substack itself rather than reading posts from my inbox. Not sure why I do that.

Expand full comment

Either the app or when I’m already on the desktop version for posting to my own and need a reading break. But it wouldn’t let me click both. 😜

Expand full comment