Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
23

Transforming a serial story into a book

All about the development of No Adults Allowed
23

I’m generally a one project-at-a-time person. It’s the only way I can make progress on anything.1 Hence, this newsletter and my ongoing fiction serial.

Back in 2022 I actually did have a side project burbling away, which was to convert an earlier serial project into book form. That emerged as the paperback and ebook edition of No Adults Allowed.

I’ve not talked about the book in much detail here, as I’m always so focused on the current project. A weeks back I was invited to talk about the book at a local library, which turned out to be a very rewarding experience. It seems I still have things to say about No Adults Allowed.

And, so, the newsletter today is that talk retold in video form. I cover the origins of the story, the process of its initial serialisation in 2020, and then the subsequent journey towards self-publishing. I think it’ll be of interest to anyone thinking of a similar route, or indeed anyone interested in post-apocalyptic fiction.

If you’d like to read No Adults Allowed, you can find it on Amazon.

Buy the paperback / ebook edition


Thanks for watching.

got in touch about a survey she’s running to find out more about Substack reading habits. If you have a moment, the anonymous survey is here and it’ open until the end of the month. I’m looking forward to perusing the results.

Meanwhile!

Courtesy of

I have now discovered the existence of Bitmap Books, and my wallet is now quivering in fear. They publish fancy coffee table books covering video game history. Look at this stuff. Especially if you were bornin the late-70s/early-80s, every single image in these books is pure nostalgia. This instantly transports me back to my childhood:

Sinclair ZX Spectrum: a visual compendium

I’d entirely forgotten about Sabre Wulf, but that palette resurfaced the memories. Not to mention this:

The Art of Point-and-Click Adventure Games

I could go on. Dave is the writer of two of the books, Run ‘N’ Gun and Go Straight, so maybe I should start with them, especially as he’s covered two genres that I’m only vaguely familiar with.

On that nerdy note, I’ll sign off. Have a great week, everyone.

Write More with Simon K Jones is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

1

I did not used to be this way. Go back 20 years and I would have a comic, a game, a short film, a novel and just about anything else you could think of, all spinning up at the same time. Most of them would never be finished, and none of them would be to the quality I wanted. I shifted to serial writing in 2015, focusing on a single project, and haven’t looked back.

23 Comments
Write More with Simon K Jones
Write More with Simon K Jones
Tips on how to write serial fiction and be a more productive writer from Simon K Jones. Find more at simonkjones.substack.com.
Listen on
Substack App
Apple Podcasts
Spotify
YouTube Music
YouTube
Pocket Casts
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Simon K Jones